Who’s Studying What and Where? A New Puzzle


I have four friends working on their philosophy dissertations. Each dissertation is on a different philosopher and each friend lives in a different city. Recently I wrote to each friend to inquire how their work is coming. Finally one friend responded. But as philosophers are apt to do, she forgot to sign the letter. What’s worse, she didn’t even put a return address on it. Here is the letter:

Hey Dan,

I’ve been working very hard on my dissertation and finally have three chapters. This passage inspired the topics for my chapters, “Thus I draw from the absurd three consequences, which are my revolt, my freedom, and my passion.” Each chapter focuses on a consequence he draws from the absurd!

Haven’t had much sleep, but we will have to talk soon. Hope you are well.

Now I can’t blame her for being forgetful. I am too! Otherwise, I’d be able to figure out who sent this, where she lives, and who her dissertation is on. Here are somethings I do remember:

1. Katy lives east of Denver.
2. Teresa lives west of Milwaukee and is studying some 20th century philosopher.
3. The one in Denver is not studying Derrida.
4. The ones east of Denver are writing on philosophers who were not alive in the 20th century.
5. The one who is studying Aristotle either lives in Boston or is Teresa.
6. The one writing on Derrida is either from Milwaukee or is Abigail.
7. Sophia lives in Boston.
8. One of them is writing on Boethius, but she is not the one who lives in Los Angeles.

Who wrote me the letter, where is she from, and who is she writing her dissertation on? Also, match the remaining friends with their cities and dissertation topics. Good Luck!

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Teresa wrote it. She is writing from Denver and is studying Camus.

    Like

  2. Answer:
    Sophia is studying Aristotle in Boston.
    Katie is studying Boethius in Milwaukee.
    Teresa is studying some 20th century philosopher (Camus) in Denver.
    Abigail is studying Derrida in LA

    Like

  3. P.S. Do I get a philosoraptor?

    Like

  4. Nice job “Your Wife”! You can have a philosoraptor… just name the theme! ;-)

    Like

  5. Michel Foucault. Go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

